Aeva AI: Revenue, team and how it was built
Aeva AI (AI phone receptionist for allied-health clinics, New Zealand): $2M a year run rate (currency not stated), October 2026. Evidence grade C: the founder's own figures, not verified by anyone else. Team: 2 co-founders alone to $1M a year; 8 people in October 2026. Launched January 2025; still running, revenue growing.Added 3 November 2026
- Outcome
- $2M a year run rate (currency not stated), October 2026Revenue growing
- Evidence
- C the founder's own figures, not verified by anyone else
- Launch
- January 2025
- Status
- Still running
- Team
- 2 co-founders alone to $1M a year; 8 people in October 2026
- Outside funding
- None (bootstrapped)
- Main channel
- Paid ads
Aeva AI is an AI receptionist, a program that answers a business's phone calls with a synthetic voice, understands what the caller wants and acts on it. Aeva sells to allied-health clinics, the health professions outside medicine and nursing, such as physiotherapy, chiropractic and podiatry. It connects to the clinic's practice management system (PMS), the software that holds the appointment diary and patient records, so it can book a patient into a free slot during the call. A clinic forwards its number to an Aeva number and pays from A$259 a month for 100 calls, according to the company's pricing page.
Chris Baxter, a former real-estate cold caller, and his school friend Louis Evans, a software engineer, both from New Zealand, started in May 2023 as an AI calling agency. In January 2025 they booked their first appointment straight into Cliniko and rebuilt the company around clinics. Baxter told the interviewer Florian Darroman that the two of them alone reached $1M in annual recurring revenue, that it was about $1.3M in July 2026, and that it had just passed $2M when they filmed in October 2026. The company says it is bootstrapped and had eight people in October 2026.
Every revenue figure here is the co-founder's own statement in one interview, published on 26 October 2026, grade C. The interview writes "$" without saying whether the dollars are US or Australian, and the clinic count and average price in the same interview fit Australian dollars better, so this page counts the headline as A$2M, about US$1.41 million. The company's own counts of practitioners and calls, published at several dates, grow in step with the revenue claims.

How much revenue does Aeva AI make?
Each row shows the evidence grade and the source numbers from the list at the end of this page. The grades are explained in How Aiolum verifies.
| Fact | Value | Grade | How we know | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Annual recurring revenue, October 2026 | just over $2M (currency not stated) | C | Chris Baxter to Florian Darroman, Profitable Founder, published 26 October 2026: "it had just gone over $2M ARR" by the time they filmed. | [1] |
| Headline in US dollars used on this page | about US$1,407,600 a year | calc | Calculated: A$2,000,000 times US$0.7038 per A$1 (Federal Reserve H.10, 30 October 2026). The lower reading is used because the interview gives prices in A$ and its clinic count fits A$ better (next rows). If the founder meant US dollars, the figure is US$2,000,000. | [1, 8] |
| Annual recurring revenue, July 2026 | about $1.3M (currency not stated) | C | Same interview: the planned meeting in July 2026, when the startup was doing about $1.3M ARR. | [1] |
| Growth from July to October 2026 | about 15% a month | calc | Calculated: (2.0 / 1.3) to the power 1/3, minus 1, over three months. The co-founder said the usual growth was about 10% a month and that the filming month was the first above 20%. | [1] |
| Annual recurring revenue reached by the two founders alone | $1M (date not given) | C | Interview: "Just the two of them took Aeva to $1M ARR." Hiring started after that, "this year", so the $1M point was about the turn of 2025 and 2026; no source gives the month. | [1] |
| Clinics and practitioners, October 2026 | about 540 clinics, 3,000+ practitioners | C | Co-founder in the interview. The pricing page says "over 500 clinics across Australia and the UK". | [1, 4] |
| Average price per clinic | about A$269 a month | C | Co-founder in the interview. 540 clinics times A$269 times 12 is A$1,743,120 a year (calculated), closer to A$2M than to US$2M (about A$2.84 million). | [1] |
| Practitioners using Aeva | 1,000+ in December 2025; 2,100+ on Cliniko in July 2026; 3,200+ in September 2026 | C | Company timeline on its About page, and its listing in Cliniko's connected-apps directory ("As of July 2026 Aeva has 2,100+ practitioners"). | [2, 5] |
| Calls answered and appointments booked, September 2026 | 390,000+ calls, 44,000+ appointments | C | Company About page, "Figures as of September 2026". The Cliniko listing from July 2026 says 210,000 calls and 26,000 appointments. | [2, 5] |
| Team, October 2026 | 8 people in five cities | C | About page: "Aeva is a team of eight as of October 2026": the two co-founders plus engineering, customer support, customer success and clinic growth. The interview also names two paid consultants and an outside ads agency. | [1, 2] |
| Outside funding | none | C | About page: "Founder-owned and bootstrapped", "No outside money". | [2] |
| Prices | A$259 to A$789 a month for 100 to 500 calls | C | Pricing page script files, read 3 November 2026. The site banner says "Plans from $8 AUD/day". | [3, 4] |
| Time from the clinic product to the October 2026 figure | 21 months | calc | Calculated: January 2025, first booking into Cliniko, to October 2026. From the agency start in May 2023 it is 41 months. | [1, 2] |
How to read this table: a grade C value is a statement by the co-founder or by the company on its own pages or in an interview. A "calc" value was computed on this page from the rows above it. No value is grade A or B: no payment processor, filing or buyer has confirmed any figure.
| Plan | Per month, billed yearly (US$) | Per month, billed monthly (US$) | Limit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Basic | 182 (A$259) | 100 inbound calls a month, same number of outbound calls | |
| Standard (recommended) | 274 (A$389) | 200 calls a month | |
| Pro | 415 (A$589) | 350 calls a month | |
| Enterprise | 555 (A$789) | 500 calls a month; talk to the team |
All plans are month-to-month with a 14-day free trial, no setup fee and no lock-in. Plans differ only in the number of calls a month; practitioners and locations are unlimited. Each call past the allowance costs A$2.80 (about US$1.97). The same numbers are charged in NZ$; UK prices are £139, £199, £299 and £399. The page shows no yearly billing, so the yearly column is empty. The company says it raised prices in December 2025 and kept existing clients on their old prices.
When did Aeva AI launch, and how did it grow?
From an AI calling agency for any industry to a clinic receptionist used by more than 3,200 practitioners, in about three and a half years. Each entry carries its grade.
- May 2023CChris Baxter and Louis Evans start Aeva as an AI calling agency in Auckland, building receptionists and calling agents for events, real estate, broking and other industries. The company says it made over 100,000 outbound calls in the first year. [2]
- 15 November 2024CA paid branded article in CEO Weekly presents the two founders and a general AI receptionist for businesses in New Zealand, Australia and the US. [7]
- 2024CThe company says the founders held 757 conversations with clinic owners, and in December 2024 a 40-clinician clinic group signed on as design partner. [2]
- January 2025CFirst appointment booked straight into Cliniko. The company narrows to allied-health clinics. [2]
- December 2025CMore than 1,000 practitioners. Prices go up for new clients only. [2, 3]
- January 2026C100,000 calls answered. Aeva Outbound launches: calls to lapsed patients and rebooking when a practitioner is sick. During 2026 they hire about one person a month, the co-founder said. [1, 2]
- July 2026CAbout $1.3M a year in recurring revenue, the co-founder said. 2,100+ practitioners on Cliniko. [1, 5]
- October 2026CJust over $2M a year in recurring revenue, the co-founder told Profitable Founder; about 540 clinics; a team of eight. [1, 2]
Why did Aeva AI work?
Four causes, in the order they mattered. Each one is a reusable lesson.
One niche, described exactly
The agency year served every industry and every product was average, the co-founder said. The clinic product targets one buyer: in his words, chiropractors in Australia with 1 to 10 practitioners. That buyer has the same problem every day (calls arrive while the practitioner treats a patient) and one software system to integrate with.
Book into the real diary
A receptionist that only takes messages saves little. Aeva writes the booking into Cliniko, Splose, PracSuite or Nookal during the call, checks it against the live diary, and recognises returning patients by phone number. The co-founder CTO built the voice pipeline and these integrations himself.
Price on calls, not seats
Plans differ only by calls a month; practitioners and locations are unlimited. The home page puts the plan next to a calculator of revenue from recovered calls, so the price reads as a small share of what one missed new patient is worth. The co-founder said early customers called the price cheap, and they raised it.
Paid ads and referrals
In the first year the co-founder ran cold email, his own Meta ads, partnerships and word of mouth. Today an agency runs Meta and Google ads, Meta is the main source, and referrals between clinics are second, he said.
How it was built
These details come from the company's own pages and the co-founder's interview. They are grade C. [1, 2, 3, 5]
- A voice pipeline with custom voices in Australian, New Zealand and UK accents, which the company says it trained on real receptionists in mid-2025.
- The Cliniko listing says Aeva runs on outside voice technology providers, with compliance agreements across every provider, rather than its own base models.
- Direct integrations with four practice management systems and a verification step that checks each booking against the live diary.
- Setup is self-serve in about an hour: the clinic picks a voice, chooses what Aeva may book, lets it scan the clinic website for answers to up to 300 common questions, and forwards its phone number.
- Call recordings and transcripts are stored on servers in Australia; the company says it meets the Australian Privacy Principles, the New Zealand Privacy Act and the UK and EU GDPR.
- Louis Evans built the product alone until about $1M a year in revenue, the co-founder said; then came a developer, a salesperson, two more developers, support and customer success staff.
Tools named in the sources
Each one opens its page in the Tools tab, with every story that uses it.
Who tried this before Aeva AI, and why did they fail?
Three companies in our database of failed startups promised to take admin or conversation work off people with software or assistants, and failed. The values below are from that database and are not independently verified.
Olive AI
The promiseAn AI workforce that automates the administrative work of hospitals.
Why it diedEach hospital needed heavy custom work, much of it done by people, so the cost of delivery grew with every customer.
Zirtual
The promiseHuman virtual assistants for busy business owners: email, scheduling and calls.
Why it diedIt employed a large workforce of assistants without control of cash flow and ran out of money.
VocalIQ
The promiseVoice interfaces that understand context and hold a natural conversation.
Why it diedIt could not compete with Apple, Google and Amazon in general voice assistants and ended inside Apple.
The failed startups come from our database of 1,749 dead startups, retold here in our own words. Its entries are AI-assisted summaries of public sources, so these cards carry no evidence grade.
What changed
Olive sold general AI to large hospitals and delivered it with expensive custom work; Zirtual sold assistants who were people on a payroll; VocalIQ built a general voice platform against the largest technology companies. Each had a cost that grew with every customer or a competitor it could not outspend.
Aeva rents voice technology that large providers now sell, so it pays no research cost, and it competes in one narrow job (answer a clinic's phone and write the booking) for one kind of small buyer. Setup is self-serve, so each new clinic adds little work. The founders' own work went into the part the providers do not sell: integrations with the four clinic systems and voices that patients accept.
Can one person copy Aeva AI now?
Yes, in another niche with its own booking software.
The method needs no capital and no new research: buy voice technology from providers, pick one kind of small business that loses money on missed calls, and integrate deeply with the one or two systems that hold its bookings. The founders say they lost a year as a general agency before they found the niche; the clinic market in Australia and New Zealand now has several AI receptionists.
Where it is still open: Dental, veterinary, beauty, trades and legal practices that run on one dominant booking or practice system in their country, and markets where these clinic systems have no receptionist partner yet.
- 1Pick a trade where calls arrive while the owner works with a customer, and where one booking is worth far more than a month of the price.
- 2Integrate with the booking software that most of that trade uses, and write bookings directly, not messages.
- 3Charge by calls handled, not by staff or locations, and show the revenue from recovered calls next to the price.
- 4Do the first sales and ads yourself; hand ads to an agency once you know what works.
What could go wrong for Aeva AI?
The risks are the mirror image of the causes above.
One interview, and the currency is not stated
Every revenue figure comes from Chris Baxter in one interview with Florian Darroman, published 26 October 2026; no payment processor, filing or buyer confirms them. The article writes "$2M ARR" without a currency, the lead that brought this story to the site read it as US$2M, and the clinic count times the average price in A$ (A$1.74 million a year) fits Australian dollars better. A reader could look for a payment-processor profile or a second interview that names the currency.
The team grew to eight
The two founders worked alone up to about $1M a year, the co-founder said. Since early 2026 they hired about one person a month; the About page lists eight people in October 2026, and the interview adds two paid consultants and an outside agency for ads.
Where the founders are
The interview describes the founders working from a villa in Canggu, Bali, while the company's About page says both co-founders are based in Auckland and lists team members in Melbourne, Christchurch, Bali and Cebu. This page uses New Zealand, where the company was founded.
Outbound calls and the founders' own sales methods
The 2023 agency made over 100,000 outbound calls for real estate, broking and other industries, the company says, and the sources do not say whether those people had agreed to be called. The co-founder said he used cold email to clinics in the first year. Today's outbound product calls a clinic's own past patients, and a planned feature calls people who filled in an ad form.
A sensitive setting
Aeva answers calls to health clinics, including psychology practices, and records every call. The company says it gives no clinical advice, tells callers with an emergency to hang up and call 000, 111 or 999, and stores data in Australia. The CEO Weekly article of November 2024 is paid branded content, not independent reporting.
Sources
The grade next to each source is the best grade that the source can support. "Read in full" means that the text of the page was downloaded and the numbers were checked in it.
- C Profitable Founder, Florian Darroman, 26 October 2026: How Chris Baxter Grew Aeva AI to $2M ARR From a Bali VillaRead in full. Interview with the co-founder. Source for the July and October 2026 revenue figures, the $1M reached by two people, the clinic count, the average price, the hiring order and the customer channels.
- C Aeva AI, About page: Meet the people behind AevaRead in full on 3 November 2026. Source for the founding in May 2023, the dated company timeline, the practitioner and call counts as of September 2026, the team of eight and the bootstrapped status.
- C Aeva AI, home page and FAQ pageRead in full on 3 November 2026 (home page https://www.aevaai.com/ and the FAQ). Source for the features, the free trial, the December 2025 price rise, the data storage and the clinical-safety rules.
- C Aeva AI, pricing page and its script files UkPricingPage and ukPricingThe page loads its prices by script; read the plan prices, call allowances and overage price as text in its script files /assets/UkPricingPage-CQPM69b-.js and /assets/ukPricing-B74RzrUZ.js on 3 November 2026.
- C Cliniko connected apps: Aeva AI ReceptionistRead in full. A listing in the directory of the practice software company; the text is written by Aeva. Source for the July 2026 practitioner, call and appointment counts and the use of outside voice providers.
- C Nacre Consulting, Allied Health Business Brilliance podcast, 25 May 2026: AI Reception and Smarter Client Flow in Allied HealthRead the episode page in full; did not listen to the audio. Confirms Chris Baxter as the face of Aeva and the product's outbound and privacy features in May 2026.
- C CEO Weekly, 15 November 2024: Meet Two Young Entrepreneurs Redefining Customer Service with AI Receptionists (branded content)Read in full. Marked branded content from a third party, so it is the founders' own account. Source for the general-business product before the clinic focus.
- A Federal Reserve H.10 Foreign Exchange Rates, release of 2 November 2026Read the Australian dollar row: US$0.7038 per A$1 on 30 October 2026. Used for the US dollar conversions on this page.
- C Database of failed startups, local exportLocal export. AI-written summaries, not independently verified. Source for the failed predecessors.